Reading

5 Books from July

In all honesty, the title should say 5 books I finished in July, but hey who’s really keeping track? For all the other mamas reading on the floor during bath time, waking up a few minutes early (or being the last one to bed), and hiding your chocolate while you read during quiet time – cheers to finding the time to read!

  1. Water from my Heart by Charles Martin – I have yet to read a Charles Martin novel that I did not devour, have at least one heart-felt cry, and be immensely sad it was over. The theme? For me, redemption and deep gratitude. Much of the book took place in Nicaragua which is near and dear to my heart after I served on several mission trips to this country as a teen. This one was so good that I even somehow convinced Mr. Engineer to read it and he ALSO enjoyed it.
  2. If I Were You by Lynn Austin – If you’re into historical fiction, this one is for you. It goes back and forth between past and present making it more of a challenge to figure out how things would turn out. Another big theme of redemption. I enjoyed all the historical details given on life during WWII in London.
  3. Off-Script: A mom’s journey through adoption, a husband’s alcoholism and special needs parenting – For all recovering (or current) perfectionists and for those who think “I am never good enough”, this one is for you. Her inner thoughts and dialogue constantly had me thinking, “me too!”. She is brutally honest in the best way.
  4. The Well Watered Woman by Gretchen Saffles – A dear friend of mine gifted this book to me and we worked through it chapter by chapter together. Highly recommend finding a friend to read along with! This book got me excited about my Bible! It kicked my butt with truth, but also inspired me with its beautiful illustrations and touching words. This is one I’ll go back to again and again.
  5. Giving Your Words by Sally & Clay Clarkson – I think I would read anything Sally Clarkson wrote. She is one of my go-to resources for all things family and motherhood. This book was slow-going because of the detail and homework assignments, but worth it because of how it has already inspired my parenting. It’s filled with real-life examples from their own family, but broad enough to make “giving your words” unique and personal enough to fit your own personality and family culture. Writing personal blessings for our children and learning how to more intentionally study my Bible to share with my kiddos are just a few of the many takeaways I was left with.

What books are you currently reading? I’d love to know what your most recent favorite is! Until then, happy reading!

2 thoughts on “5 Books from July

  1. Hi Sierra. I’m sure you did not expect to hear from someone of my general but I love to talk about books. Lynn Austin is one of my favorites especially Until We Reach Home. When it comes to Christian writers she is a cut above. If you like Charles Martin try The Water Keeper. Never a dull moment. But the Must Read is Lisa Wingate’s Before We We We’re Yours. I have loved LW since reading Tending Roses but this book is her best by far.
    Would love to hear from you. Love to Brad and the kiddos. 😊

    1. Hi Lanelle! Funny you should mention The Water Keeper, I just started reading it this week. So far, really enjoying it! I have also read Before We Were Yours and I really enjoyed that one as well. Some of it was so hard for me to read – the mistreatment of children is just beyond tragic. Sounds like we enjoy some of the same kinds of books – how fun! Reading is one of my favorite things to do! Good to hear from you. 🙂

Leave a comment