Pregnancy

The Last Wild Weeks: Pregnancy

 

the last wild weeks- pregnancy

Every woman experiences pregnancy differently and I’ve found it fascinating (sometimes scary) to hear all the different perspectives. For me, my final trimester has awakened in me this strong desire to wash everything. Somehow it seems that everything our child touches should be thrown in the washer first. I find an enormous amount of satisfaction in pulling things off the hanger or taking them out of the wrapper and throwing them in the washing machine.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
He is going to be an amazing daddy.

I’m also really into snacks these days. Mostly because my stomach feels like the size of a small crouton at the moment so eating large meals is out of the question at this point.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Eatin’ for two.

And simple things like shaving my legs and taking off my pants have become a athletic accomplishments. I sometimes daydream about what it will be like to bend over without having to hold my breath.

All of this to say, I am 37 weeks pregnant and so excited to meet our baby in just a few short weeks. I’m feeling healthy and trying to keep up with walking and yoga. I’m a lot slower and a lot less graceful, but it does feel good to move. It also feels good to lay on the couch reading a book for an hour as well. It’s all about balance right?

It’s been four months since my last blog post and I’ve been sitting here trying to think where the time has gone. Coming out of my first trimester, I think I finally felt good again that I was happy to be out and about doing things.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Feeling excited about a diaper bag. Mom moment.

Now I’m slowing down again. I worked my last day of a job I love very recently . It was so bittersweet to leave – I put so much heart and soul into my work and it was truly the best job I’ve ever had. But the sweetness comes in knowing that I’ll be entering this new season of motherhood very soon. And my feet were protesting about carrying around 30 extra pounds for 8 hours a day. They had had enough.

I don’t know if any other moms can relate to this, but I feel this creative awakening in my third trimester. I want to read and write and paint and cook new things. Maybe it’s the extra hormones making me more emotional and “feely”? Whatever it is, I want to embrace it. Life has been so busy and full and at times stressful and this slower pace seems to be reactivating the creative, fun part of my brain.

I also don’t have a lot of answers right now. When I look ahead, I see a lot of change and transition. But I see so much goodness and sweetness as well. I don’t know if/when I will work again. I don’t know exactly how to breastfeed. I don’t know how I will function on no sleep. But I know that God has me exactly where He wants me to be. He is orchestrating everything perfectly, even when life isn’t perfect.

I heard this statement today, “loved enough to move forward” and I can’t seem to get it out of my head. When labor is tough, I’m loved enough to move forward. When I don’t know what to do next, I am loved enough to move forward. When I feel creatively stumped, I am loved enough to move forward. It changes everything and I wish I could temporarily tattoo this on my arm for this season of my life. We are so loved by our Heavenly Father that no challenge is too great. I want to live out of this loved place.

So as I wait for little one to arrive, I choose to focus on His love for me instead of fear of the unknown. Whatever waiting season you are in, I hope you feel loved enough to move forward my sisters (and brothers if you’re reading).

What are your wildest third trimester memories? Share below! I’d love to hear.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
We completed our Bradley Method Birthing Classes! Mr. Engineer carried all the “labor tools”.
10 thoughts on “The Last Wild Weeks: Pregnancy

  1. Hi Sierra, I second you on your thoughts ..loved enough is all that matters! and I wish you a happy and speedy delivery 🙂 Now that it’s been an year, my wildest third trimester memory is acid reflux and sleep deprivation.

    1. Thank you! Thankfully I’ve been spared the bad acid reflux (so far haha!) but the sleep is definitely more difficult – I wake up a lot uncomfortable or to visit the loo!

  2. The third trimester is always exhausting, I think. I remember being super swollen and hot with my first since he is my August baby. And our new little one decided to vacate the womb three weeks early! But with him, I was reallt nauseous the thirs trimester and developed restless legs. But despite the discomfort, my favorite memories from both of those third trimesters was feeling those precious baby kicks!

    Congrats on your new baby and I pray you have a smooth labor and delivery!

    1. The kicks are fun! They make everything seem so real. I’ve started getting a bit nauseous again in these last few weeks but definitely not as bad as the first few month. It’ll all be worth it! Thank you 🙂

  3. I love your precious account of where you are and the journey you took to get to this most perfect place. This is going to be the most awesome experience in your life and you and Mr. Engineer are going to be even more smitten, and truly blessed , to look into the eyes of your little one. Thank you for sharing this sweet testament of your life right now. Priceless! Love your heart and your precious spirit!

    1. You’re so kind! We are already so in love with this little munchkin which is crazy. Can’t wait to meet him/her. Thank you for reading and sharing in our joy 🙂

  4. I did the Bradley method with my third and it was the best! I actually was able to deliver him myself! As with breastfeeding, our bodies were created to do this. I think you’ll do great! Praying for a safe and smooth delivery!

  5. Hi Sierra, loved reading your blog today! Glad you are able to slow down a bit and enjoy your last weeks of pregnancy, it’s such a special time. You’ll look back and think Wow that actually went by fast and long again for those bumped belly days ❤ With my twins it was all so scary & new for me. I was afraid much of my pregnancy and with IVF I had a added risk. I remember during the last few months I felt I was in the clear and could relax more…and then they were out!! I wishes i woukd have taken more pregnancy pictures of my twin belly! My double blessings!! Then 9 years later when I was surprised to find I was pregnant…I told myself I would relax & enjoy being pregnant more and take Lots of pictures! Which I DID! Although she had to come out a month early, I did the best I could to slow down and relish in my big belly moments.
    I’m so excited for you, and you will be a Great Mother. Don’t stress about breastfeeding many things will just come naturally once you hold your little bundle of Joy 🙂

    1. The early months were more scary for me as well I think because it was all so new! I’m really enjoying slowing down and trying to savor the little things and not focus on the uncomfortable parts of late pregnancy. Thank you for your encouragement and for reading!

Leave a Reply

